Home AutoSports WEC: Thirty-Seven Entries for Spa-Francorchamps Challenge in May

WEC: Thirty-Seven Entries for Spa-Francorchamps Challenge in May


106 drivers are as a result of take to the observe for spherical 2 of the 2022 FIA World Endurance Championship at Spa-Francorchamps on the 5-7 Could.

The circuit within the Ardennes Forest hosted the primary European WEC occasion again in Could 2012 and is considered one of solely two circuits that has been on the calendar in each season for the previous ten years, the opposite being Le Mans.  Additionally, for the primary time since 2019, the TotalEnergies 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps returns to its place as the ultimate gown rehearsal for the groups and drivers forward of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June.

The Hypercar class will as soon as once more characteristic 4 entries, with the winners of the 1000 Miles of Sebring and the 2 Toyota Gazoo Racing GR010s having unchanged line ups from the opening spherical of the championship.  

The no708 Glickenhaus Racing 007 LMH will see Brazilian ‘Pipo’ Derani changing American Ryan Briscoe, who will be part of Olivier Pla and Romain Dumas behind the wheel for the TotalEnergies 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

LMGTE Professional will see Chevrolet, Ferrari and Porsche going head-to-head, with Porsche seeking to lengthen its lead within the Producers World Championship following the double podium in Florida.  

All 5 automobiles have unchanged driver line-ups from the opening race of the season within the USA. 

1000 Miles of Sebring race winner Kevin Estre received at Spa-Francorchamps in 2020 along with his present teammate Michael Christensen and in 2021 with Neel Jani and shall be hoping to repeat his race-winning performances in 2022 to increase his championship lead.

The LMP2 class will see one other bumper grid of 15 automobiles for the second race of the season with three driver modifications amongst the 45 who raced within the USA.

British racer Alex Lynn will be part of 1000 Miles of Sebring class winners Oliver Jarvis and Joshua Pierson within the no23 United Autosports USA Oreca-Gibson, changing Paul Di Resta behind the wheel.

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona general winner and 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans LMGTE Professional winner Sebastien Bourdais will be part of Nico Muller and Ryan Cullen within the no10 Vector Sport Oreca, the French driver changing Mike Rockenfeller for the race in Belgium.

Alex Brundle returns to the Inter Europol Competitors workforce rather than Fabio Scherer, becoming a member of Jakub Smiechowski and Esteban Gutierrez within the no34 Oreca 07-Gibson.

The LMGTE AM grid is boosted to 13 automobiles with the return of the GR Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19 of Mike Wainwright, Riccardo Pera and Ben Barker.

Belgium’s Jan Heylen shall be becoming a member of the no88 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche for his residence race alongside People Patrick Lindsey and Fred Poordad.

The opposite 11 automobiles characteristic unchanged driver line-ups, together with winners the 1000 Miles of Sebring class, Paul Dalla Lana, David Pittard and Nicki Thiim within the no98 Northwest AMR Aston Martin Vantage AMR.

The TotalEnergies 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps weekend will get underway on Thursday fifth Could, with qualifying on Friday sixth Could, adopted by Spherical 2 of the FIA World Endurance Championship on Saturday seventh Could.

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment